Republic Bank, hitherto known as HFC Bank operated as a financial institution giving mortgage loans.

It implemented the IDA/SSNIT pilot programme for providing housing finances in Ghana. HFC (Republic bank) was integrated on May 7th, 1990 into the Ghana Companies Code, 1963 (Act – 179) as a private limited company. The bank started its operations on December 2nd, 1991. On 1st August, 1994, it was licensed as a non-banking financial institution by the Bank of Ghana. Finally, on November 17, 2003, the bank was honoured with the license of universal banking, thus, emerging to operate as a fully grown universal bank.


On 13th May, 2015, HFC bank (presently Republic bank) officially became the subsidiary of the Republic Financial Holdings Limited. The parent group is the major bank in the entire Caribbean region having its headquarters in Trinidad and Tobago. Recently, in the month of April, 2018, HFC bank got itself renamed to Republic bank.


The list of all Republic Bank branches in Accra is listed below:

  1. Republic Bank Head Office North Ridge Branch
  2. Republic Bank Accra Central Branch
  3. Republic Bank Achimota Branch
  4. Republic Bank Madina Branch
  5. Republic Bank Tema Branch
  6. Republic Bank Ashiaman Branch
  7. Republic Bank Ridge Branch
  8. Republic Bank Tudu Branch
  9. Republic Bank Baatsona Branch
  10. Republic Bank Private Bank Branch
  11. Republic Bank Accra Post office Square Branch
  12. Republic Bank Adabraka Branch
  13. Republic Bank Dansoman Branch
  14. Republic Bank Adjiriganor Branch
  15. Republic Bank Tema Community 25 Branch