General News

Affail Monney Beats Lloyd Evans To Retain GJA Big Seat

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Incumbent President of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA), Roland Affail Monney has beaten his fiercest contender Lloyd Evans to retain his seat a second time.

He polled 310 votes out of the total 505 votes, in an election which was predicted by many to go in favour of Lloyd Evans.


Mr Evans had 147 votes with the third candidate Jonny Aryeetey polling 44.

The election also saw Linda Asante Adjei beat her closest contender Tina Aforo-Yeboah.

Linda polled 209 votes while Tina managed 111 votes.


Edmund Kofi Yeboah beat Dave Agbenu with one(1) vote to win the General Secretary position for the GJA. He had 251 votes.

Albert Kwabena Dwumfour bagged 312 votes to win the organising secretary and Mary Mensah polled 287 votes to head the Public Affairs.

In the Brong Ahafo Region, Former GJA Regional Secretary and TV3’s Regional Correspondent, Larry Paa Kwasi Moses polled 22 votes to be the president. He beat Daily Graphic’s regional correspondent Emmanuel Adu Gyamera while GNA’s Dennis Peprah was also elected secretary.